Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Translate This Website
International Translation Network
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Literature & Fiction   Humor & Satire

Love, Dishonor, Marry, Die, Cherish, Perish: A Novel


Super Savings Item! Save 34% on the Love, Dishonor, Marry, Die, Cherish, Perish: A Novel by Doubleday Books at Translate This Website. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. From the incomparable David Rakoff, a poignant, beautiful, witty, and wise novel in verse whose scope spans the twentieth centuryThrough his books


Product Description

From the incomparable David Rakoff, a poignant, beautiful, witty, and wise novel in verse whose scope spans the twentieth century

Through his books and his radio essays for NPR's This American Life, David Rakoff has built a deserved reputation as one of the finest and funniest essayists of our time. Written with humor, sympathy, and tenderness, this intricately woven novel proves him to be the master of an altogether different art form.

LOVE, DISHONOR, MARRY, DIE, CHERISH, PERISH leaps cities and decades as Rakoff sings the song of an America whose freedoms can be intoxicating, or brutal. 

The characters' lives are linked to each other by acts of generosity or cruelty. A daughter of Irish slaughterhouse workers in early-twentieth-century Chicago faces a desperate choice; a hobo offers an unexpected refuge on the rails during the Great Depression; a vivacious aunt provides her clever nephew a path out of the crushed dream of postwar Southern California; an office girl endures the casually vicious sexism of 1950s Manhattan; the young man from Southern California revels in the electrifying sexual and artistic openness of 1960s San Francisco, then later tends to dying friends and lovers as the AIDS pandemic devastates the community he cherishes; a love triangle reveals the empty materialism of the Reagan years; a marriage crumbles under the distinction between self-actualization and humanity; as the new century opens, a man who has lost his way finds a measure of peace in a photograph he discovers in an old box—an image of pure and simple joy that unites the themes of this brilliantly conceived work.

Rakoff's insistence on beauty and the necessity of kindness in a selfish world raises the novel far above mere satire.  A critic once called Rakoff "magnificent," a word that perfectly describes this wonderful novel in verse.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Doubleday
Brand:Doubleday Books
Publisher:Doubleday
Studio:Doubleday
EAN:9780385535212
Item Weight:0.5 pounds
Item Size:0.46 x 8.23 x 8.23 inches
Package Weight:0.5 pounds
Package Size:5.8 x 0.7 x 0.7 inches

Love, Dishonor, Marry, Die, Cherish, Perish: A Novel by Doubleday Books

Buy Now:
Love, Dishonor, Marry, Die, Cherish, Perish: A Novel

Brand: Doubleday Books
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$26.95
$17.79
You Save: 34%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Humor & Satire.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Doubleday Books, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By Vintage Books
ean: 9780307739452, isbn: 9780307739452,
From a 5 Under 35 winner, comes a razor-sharp, hilarious, and touching story of a son searching for his father . . . through quantum space-time. Every day in Minor Universe 31 people get into time machines and try to change the past. That's where Ch...

By Brand: Overlook
sku: 9781585678440, mpn: 9781585678440, ean: 9781585678440, isbn: 1585678449,
The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear is playful enough for young adult readers, yet as intricate and engaging as any work of literary fiction; it has the plot of a novel and the spontaneity and humor of a vintage comic book. "A bluebear has twenty-se...

By imusti
mpn: 9780140449914, ean: 9780140449914, isbn: 0140449914,
Jaroslav Hašek's black satire, the inspiration for such works as Joseph Heller's Catch-22 Good-natured and garrulous, Švejk becomes the Austro-Hungarian army's most loyal Czech soldier when he is called up on the outbreak of the First World War - a...

By Penguin Books
ean: 9780142001813, isbn: 0142001813,
The collapse of the Soviet Union has opened up a huge consumer market, but how do you sell things to a generation that grew up with just one type of cola? When Tatarsky, a frustrated poet, takes a job as an advertising copywriter, he finds he has a t...

By Vintage
ean: 9781101973493, isbn: 1101973498,
WINNER OF THE 2017 MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZEIn a dive bar in a small Israeli city, Dov Greenstein, a comedian a bit past his prime, takes the stage for his final show. Over the course of a single evening, Dov’s patter becomes a kind of memoir...

By Penguin Books
mpn: 23365958, ean: 9780143113874, isbn: 0143113879,
This New York Times bestseller is the hilarious philosophy course everyone wishes they’d had in schoolOutrageously funny, Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar... has been a breakout bestseller ever since authors—and born vaudevillians—Thomas Ca...

By Washington Square Press
mpn: 980112359, ean: 9781501142543, isbn: 1501142542,
The New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove and My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry “returns with this heartwarming story about a woman rediscovering herself after a personal crisis…fans of Backman will find another wi...

By Harper Paperbacks
ean: 9780062678034, isbn: 0062678035,
The international bestsellerFor readers of quirky Scandinavian fiction comes this charming and witty debut novel by Emmy Abrahamson—perfect for fans of Jonas Jonasson.Love stinks. Or maybe it just needs a shower . . . Vienna: famous for Mozart, wal...

By University of Hawaii Press
mpn: 16 illustrations, ean: 9780824820190, isbn: 9780824820190,
Among Marshallese the ri-bwebwenato (storyteller) is well known and respected, a living repository and transmitter of traditional history and culture. Here are ninety folktales and stories of historical events, collected and translated into English d...

By Viking
ean: 9780525557432, isbn: 0525557431,
"An exuberant, wise, and darkly funny novel from an essential new voice in fiction." --Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest This astonishing first novel tells the story of a married couple - both experts in language and communication - who nev...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - translateth.is. All Rights Reserved.