Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Translate This Website
International Translation Network
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
Home About Us News Our Blog Our Catalog My Cart My Account Track Shippment Contact Us
  Our Catalog   Mystery, Thriller & Suspense   Mystery

San Juan Noir (Spanish-language edition) (Spanish Edition)


Super Savings Item! Save 33% on the San Juan Noir (Spanish-language edition) (Spanish Edition) by Akashic Books at Translate This Website. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. ''Santos-Febres and 13 other contributors of Puerto Rican heritage take full advantage of San Juan's wide range of disparities between rich and poor,


Product Description

"Santos-Febres and 13 other contributors of Puerto Rican heritage take full advantage of San Juan's wide range of disparities between rich and poor, weak and powerful, tourists and residents, in this fine addition to Akashic's noir anthology series."
--Publishers Weekly

"A welcomed addition to the publisher's popular noir series, San Juan Noir has the distinction of being issued in two editions, English and Spanish, to more accurately reflect the Caribbean island's bilingual culture. Editor Santos-Febres gathers a varied collection of stories she expects will 'reveal a side of Puerto Rico otherwise obscured by the tourist trade and preconception.'"
-- NBC News Latino

"The stories within San Juan Noir stare right into the face of colonialism as they examine the gaps between the city's rich and its poor, its residents and its constant flow of tourists, its colorful exterior and its gritty underbelly. This is noir with a bite, noir that enthralls with its dark tales even as it challenges the reader--do better, do better, do better."
--Literary Hub

"From the interiors of sleazy bars or chic resort hotels, shabby apartments and in open streets and avenues with no escape, the tales of San Juan Noir trace the doomed routes of their victims and villains with an acute social and tragic awareness. These journeys keep the reader transfixed and understanding this Caribbean city in entirely new ways."
--Insights

Akashic Books continues its groundbreaking series of original noir anthologies, launched in 2004 with Brooklyn Noir. Each story is set in a distinct neighborhood or location within the city of the book.

Brand-new stories by: Wilfredo J. Burgos Matos, Ernesto Quiñonez, Mayra Santos-Febres, José Rabelo, Luis Negrón, Yolanda Arroyo Pizarro, Ana María Fuster Lavín, Janette Becerra, Manolo Núñez Negrón, Tere Dávila, Edmaris Carazo, Alejandro Álvarez Nieves, Charlie Vázquez, and Manuel A. Meléndez. Translated by Will Vanderhyden.

From the introduction by Mayra Santos-Febres:

"Puerto Rico is often portrayed as sandy beaches, casinos, luxury hotels, relaxation, and never-ending pleasure--a place that satisfies all senses and appetites.

Yet the city of San Juan is much more than that. The capital of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico is the oldest Spanish settlement in all the territories and colonies of the United States. Since Puerto Rico is economically dependent on the US, the financial downturn of 2008 hit us hard. Many Puerto Ricans have left the island, looking for a better life. Crime has risen and the black market has thrived. As in many crises, art, music, and literature have also flourished. Never before has there been so much literary production. We have responded to our crisis with many stories to tell. And, especially in these times, many of those stories are noir...

I hope these stories spark your imagination, and reveal a side of Puerto Rico otherwise obscured by the tourist trade and preconceptions. Maybe it will also pique your curiosity, and you will come visit our 'pearl of the Caribbean.'"

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Akashic Books
Publisher:Akashic Books
Studio:Akashic Books
EAN:9781617754883
Item Weight:0 pounds
Item Size:0.5 x 8.25 x 8.25 inches
Package Weight:0.4 pounds
Package Size:5.1 x 0.6 x 0.6 inches

San Juan Noir (Spanish-language edition) (Spanish Edition) by Akashic Books

Buy Now:
San Juan Noir (Spanish-language edition) (Spanish Edition)

Brand: Akashic Books
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$15.95
$10.84
You Save: 32%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Mystery.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Akashic Books, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


mpn: 9780307472595, ean: 9780307472595, isbn: 0307472590,
Un amanecer de 1945, un muchacho es conducido por su padre a un misterioso lugar oculto en el corazón de la ciudad vieja: el Cementerio de los Libros Olvidados. Allí encuentra La Sombra del Viento, un libro maldito que cambiará el rumbo de su vida...

ean: 9781101984239, isbn: 1101984236,
The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet--perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold...

ean: 9781936939138, isbn: 1936939134,
The 'consulting detective', Sherlock Holmes, has been called to an American town to solve a strange mystery. Only... this time the pen pulling the strings of the World's Greatest Detective is held by literary legend Mark Twain. In a style that could ...

ean: 9780375725845, isbn: 0375725849,
An acclaimed bestseller and international sensation, Patrick Suskind’s classic novel provokes a terrifying examination of what happens when one man’s indulgence in his greatest passion—his sense of smell—leads to murder. In the slums of eight...

ean: 9780375718946, isbn: 037571894X,
Coming this October: Killing Commendatore, the much-anticipated new novel from Haruki MurakamiQuirky and utterly captivating, A Wild Sheep Chase is Murakami at his astounding best.An advertising executive receives a postcard from a friend and casual...

mpn: black & white illustrations, ean: 9781909904408, isbn: 1909904406,
Sleepy Hollow is known for its ghosts and the haunting atmosphere that pervades the imaginations of its inhabitants and visitors. The most infamous spectre in the Hollow is the Headless Horseman, said to be the ghost of a Hessian trooper who had his ...

ean: 9781101972489, isbn: 1101972483,
Libby Day tenía siete años cuando su madre y sus dos hermanas fueron víctimas de lo que los medios llamaron “la masacre de la granja de Kinnakee, Kansas”. Ella salvó la vida y testificó contra su hermano Ben, a quien señaló como el culpabl...

mpn: 980122035, ean: 9781101974162, isbn: 1101974168,
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER Lisbeth Salander is serving time in Flodberga Prison. When a sadistic gang leader nicknamed Benito starts to torture Faria, a young Bangladeshi prisoner, Salander finds it impossible not to intervene. Now a targe...

ean: 9780804171762, isbn: 0804171769,
Recién salida de una breve estancia en un hospital psiquiátrico, Camille Preaker se dirige a su ciudad natal para cubrir una serie de asesinatos para el periódico donde trabaja. Por primera vez en once años, la reportera de sucesos regresa a la i...

ean: 9781410466235, isbn: 141046623X,
With new-found leisure time, Claire Malloy tries to learn French cooking and becomes an ESL tutor, but ends up investigating a murder when one of her students, an unpleasant Russian woman, is found dead at the Farberville Literary Council. (mystery &...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - translateth.is. All Rights Reserved.