Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Translate This Website
International Translation Network
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Literature & Fiction   Women's Fiction

The Idiot: A Novel


Super Savings Item! Save 38% on the The Idiot: A Novel by Penguin Books at Translate This Website. MPN: 49367722. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. A New York Times Book Review Notable BookFinalist for the Pulitzer Prize for FictionLonglisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction''An addictive,


Product Description

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book

Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction

"An addictive, sprawling epic; I wolfed it down.”
—Miranda July, author of The First Bad Man and It Chooses You 

“Easily the funniest book I’ve read this year.”
GQ


A portrait of the artist as a young woman. A novel about not just discovering but inventing oneself.


The year is 1995, and email is new. Selin, the daughter of Turkish immigrants, arrives for her freshman year at Harvard. She signs up for classes in subjects she has never heard of, befriends her charismatic and worldly Serbian classmate, Svetlana, and, almost by accident, begins corresponding with Ivan, an older mathematics student from Hungary. Selin may have barely spoken to Ivan, but with each email they exchange, the act of writing seems to take on new and increasingly mysterious meanings. 
 
At the end of the school year, Ivan goes to Budapest for the summer, and Selin heads to the Hungarian countryside, to teach English in a program run by one of Ivan's friends. On the way, she spends two weeks visiting Paris with Svetlana. Selin's summer in Europe does not resonate with anything she has previously heard about the typical experiences of American college students, or indeed of any other kinds of people. For Selin, this is a journey further inside herself: a coming to grips with the ineffable and exhilarating confusion of first love, and with the growing consciousness that she is doomed to become a writer.

With superlative emotional and intellectual sensitivity, mordant wit, and pitch-perfect style, Batuman dramatizes the uncertainty of life on the cusp of adulthood. Her prose is a rare and inimitable combination of tenderness and wisdom; its logic as natural and inscrutable as that of memory itself. The Idiot is a heroic yet self-effacing reckoning with the terror and joy of becoming a person in a world that is as intoxicating as it is disquieting. Batuman's fiction is unguarded against both life's affronts and its beauty--and has at its command the complete range of thinking and feeling which they entail.

Named one the best books of the year by Refinery29 Mashable One • Elle Magazine • The New York Times • Bookpage • Vogue • NPR • Buzzfeed The Millions

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Penguin Books
Part Number:49367722
Publisher:Penguin Books
Studio:Penguin Books
MPN:49367722
EAN:9780143111061
Item Weight:0.73 pounds
Item Size:1 x 8.3 x 8.3 inches
Package Weight:0.73 pounds
Package Size:5.39 x 0.91 x 0.91 inches

The Idiot: A Novel by Penguin Books

Buy Now:
The Idiot: A Novel

Brand: Penguin Books
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$16.00
$9.95
You Save: 38%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Women's Fiction.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Penguin Books, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By Hodder & Stoughton
ean: 9780340896679, isbn: 0340896671,
The world is a puzzling, sometimes frightening place for Jessica Fontaine. As a child she only finds contentment in playing the piano and wandering alone in the empty spaces of Audlands Hall, the dilapidated country house where she grows up. Twenty-f...

By Vintage Books
ean: 9780804172967, isbn: 080417296X,
La gran autora canadiense nos ofrece Mi vida querida, una colección de cuentos en los que vemos a hombres y mujeres obligados a traficar con la duda, el dolor y la decepción sin más recursos que su humanidad.   ¿Bastan un beso robado, un salto d...

By G.P. Putnam's Sons
ean: 9780525535591, isbn: 0525535594,
THE #1 FRENCH BESTSELLERMORE THAN 3 MILLION COPIES SOLD WORLDWIDEThe feel-good #1 bestselling French novel about a woman whose mission to cure her "routine-itis" leads her to lasting joy and true fulfillment, for fans of The Alchemist and Hector and ...

By CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
mpn: black & white illustrations, ean: 9781500789770, isbn: 1500789771,
Sometimes to save your life......You must face your past.And sometimes you must kill it. One brutal lover's spat too many makes Olivia decide her only way out of a violent same-sex relationship is in a stretcher.But life has other plans.Her father n...

By Thomas Dunne Books
ean: 9781250020659, isbn: 1250020654,
Not only do Southerners talk slowly, but sometimes the whole language is hard to understand. No one realizes that more than Memphis belle Leelee Satterfield. Since she debuted in Whistlin' Dixie in a Nor'easter, Leelee has entertained tens of thousan...

By Suma Internacional
ean: 9781941999882, isbn: 1941999883,
El libro en el que se basa la película de amor. Una historia que necesitas experimentar.Una novela inolvidable que podrás seguir disfrutando con su continuación: Después de ti.Louisa Clark sabe muchas cosas. Sabe cuántos pasos hay entre la parad...

By RANDOM HOUSE
ean: 9780375508295, isbn: 9780375508295,
A controversial, award-winning story about the passionate but untenable affair between an Israeli woman and a Palestinian man, from one of Israel’s most acclaimed novelists When Liat meets Hilmi on a blustery autumn afternoon in Greenwich Village, ...

By Vintage
ean: 9780345804488, isbn: 0345804481,
A teenage girl encounters the shocks of first love at the height of the summer holidays in Greece. A young filmmaker celebrates her first moment of recognition by impulsively buying a Chanel dress she can barely afford. Both halves of a longstanding ...

By Independently published
ean: 9781520300443, isbn: 1520300441,
Elnice Coker and her husband Arthur, retired schoolteachers, move from Indiana to the Hollywood Hills in a last-ditch attempt at novelty and happiness. California alone can’t do the trick, but when Elnice befriends her housecleaner, Solita, her lif...

By St. Martin's Griffin
ean: 9781250020673, isbn: 1250020670,
Leelee Satterfield is back in a riotously funny and charmingly romantic adventure from Lisa Patton, author of the widely acclaimed Dixie seriesNot only do Southerners talk slowly, sometimes the whole language is hard to understand. No one realizes th...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - translateth.is. All Rights Reserved.